Good Morning Matcha Latte

Ahh, matcha.

Some mornings, it’s literally a life saver.

Whenever I start my day with a warm, comforting matcha latte, I can just feel the Green Tea gods shining down upon me:

“You’re going to have a good day today, Mackenna, we’ll make sure of it.”

Thank you, matcha.

If you’re a fan of matcha, you know what I’m talking about.

It has gentle, slow-releasing energy that doesn’t end with the same crash as coffee.

Though I love the taste of coffee, it’s always made me anxious and jittery, so I don’t drink it.

If you drink matcha all day like I do, you might also be a matcha snob.

I always try to use organic, grade-A matcha for my lattes, not only because it tastes better, but because it’s often tested for heavy metals and pesticide residues.

Matcha green tea is an antioxidant bomb, and may actually contain cancer fighting compounds.

Matcha originated in Japan, and has been consumed for centuries as a frothy tea.

It’s made from grinding green tea into a fine powder.

Matcha tea is very high in an antioxidant called theanine, which is also believed to attribute to the rich, deep flavor matcha tea has.

You can use any type of milk you like for this recipe, but I usually like to use almond milk.

One cool thing about matcha is that it’s so versatile!

You can add tonic herbs, different flavors like rose, cinnamon or vanilla, or add it to milkshakes, ice cream and desserts.

This recipe is perfect for mornings, especially when a busy day awaits.

I included ashitaba in this recipe, which is an amazing herb – especially for vegans – due to its blood building and nourishing properties.

It also aids in regulating metabolism, supports the immune system and promotes proper digestive function.

It also has a grassy, mild flavor that pairs nicely with matcha.

Ingredients:

12 oz raw almond milk
1 tsp matcha tea powder
1/2 tsp ashitaba powder
1 tsp maple syrup (optional)

Directions:

  1. In a small saucepan, heat the almond milk on low heat until just steaming.
  2. Add to a blender with the matcha, ashitaba and maple syrup.
  3. Blend until super smooth. (Alternatively, if you have a high speed blender, you can heat the latte in the blender by blending it on high until warm – about 2-3 minutes. This keeps the recipe raw as well.)
  4. Pour into your favorite mug.

Enjoy! ❤



Leave a comment